of 1793 provided for an annual meeting in a parish or township to appoint local officers but these were responsible to Parliament and the courts and the meetings had no law-making powers. Brockville, in 1832, gained some local powers from the Governor in Council which had previously been exercised through the courts. Other localities soon followed suit, and in 1834 York was incorporated as the self-governing city of Toronto. Further steps led to the Municipal Act of 1849, which is the foundation of the local government of today in Ontario and which later provided a model for the western provinces. Subsequently, Acts have been passed in all provinces governing aspects of municipal incorporation, powers and duties.

Municipal government in every province of Canada existed in at least elementary form before Confederation. With such a background, the provision of the British North America Act that jurisdiction over municipal affairs would rest with the provinces has resulted, quite naturally, in dissimilarity in the organization of local government across the country. This stems not only from the difference in beginnings and subsequent independent growth in each province, but also from a variation in requirements arising out of geographical and population differences.

The situation remains in a state of flux, with constant amendment of provincial Acts and charters in the attempt to solve old problems and to meet new ones. Just as the call for new and additional services has enlarged the scope of Federal and provincial activities, the municipalities have had to assume responsibilities unheard of, or considered beyond their sphere of activity, a few decades ago. As a result, amendments to Acts have varied from those enlarging the powers and the boundaries of municipalities, to those establishing closer provincial control and greater financial aid.

A special article on the history of local government in Canada is planned for a later edition of the Canada Year Book.

The chief forms of municipal organization at present extant in the provinces of Canada are given in the following paragraphs. *

Newfoundland.—This new Province has only one "city", St. John's. The remainder of the population is mostly dispersed in small settlements around the coastline, and only since the passage of the Local Administration Act of 1937 have a few of the larger of these been set up individually with local councils as "towns", or where two or three are close together, as "rural districts" (14 by 1948). These latter are not rural municipalities, but merely "towns" consisting of two or more settlements. Local affairs in the remainder of the Province are administered by the Provincial Government.

Prince Edward Island.—The "city" of Charlottetown and seven "towns", all incorporated by special Acts, comprise the total municipal organization in this Province. They include less than one-half of one per cent of its total area and only a quarter of its population. The remainder is not organized municipally, as the three counties are purely provincial administrative units.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the Province. Halifax and Sydney are the only two "cities" and operate under special charters, with the latter also governed by some special legislation. "Towns", which number 41, operate under the Town Incorporation Act. There are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of

^{*} Municipalities are summarized by type of organization on p. 133.